Lent Midweek 3

Psalm 62 – My soul finds rest in God alone

Doug Harris

Song of Trust in God Alone

To the leader: according to Jeduthun. A Psalm of David.

1 For God alone my soul waits in silence;

from him comes my salvation.

2 He alone is my rock and my salvation,

my fortress; I shall never be shaken.

3 How long will you assail a person,

will you batter your victim, all of you,

as you would a leaning wall, a tottering fence?

4 Their only plan is to bring down a person of prominence.

They take pleasure in falsehood;

they bless with their mouths,

but inwardly they curse.Selah

5 For God alone my soul waits in silence,

for my hope is from him.

6 He alone is my rock and my salvation,

my fortress; I shall not be shaken.

7 On God rests my deliverance and my honor;

my mighty rock, my refuge is in God.

8 Trust in him at all times, O people;

pour out your heart before him;

God is a refuge for us.Selah

9 Those of low estate are but a breath,

those of high estate are a delusion;

in the balances they go up;

they are together lighter than a breath.

10 Put no confidence in extortion,

and set no vain hopes on robbery;

if riches increase, do not set your heart on them.

11 Once God has spoken;

twice have I heard this:

that power belongs to God,

12     and steadfast love belongs to you, O Lord.

For you repay to all

according to their work.

I don’t know how many of you actually know the story behind this Psalm. In Psalm 62, King David is struggling. There are some “bad guys” who are trying to kill him. He is in a very vulnerable place, one in which he could lose his life. But throughout his ordeal, he does one thing and one thing alone. He places his trust in God, and not in other things, like other men or money.

I cannot even imagine what this must have been like for David. To be in a situation from which there is no escape, one in which you could be murdered, and then placing all of your confidence and trust in God to get you out of it. This is just amazing to me, and I think something that I struggle with daily.

I find that too often in my life, I have put all of my trust and faith into other people or objects instead of just trusting in God. It just seems easier to put my faith in people or objects, and why not? I will always see those people, those objects will always do their job, right? That is, of course until they don’t, and I’m left putting my trust into someone or something new. It’s like I continue to put my trust in an alarm clock in which the power goes out nightly and the alarm doesn’t go off in the morning. It seems like a good idea, but obviously, it isn’t.

This Psalm makes me think that I often take for granted that God is there or I don’t even think about Him being there, focusing too much only on what I can physically see. He’s like the ultimate friend who does whatever you need Him to do. The only thing is, I often forget to thank Him for his help, or even acknowledge His presence, but He still keeps working for me all the time.

In my life, I have found that the only time where I have truly put all of my trust in God was when there were dire circumstances. Like when my father died. I was 17 at the time, and had just finished my junior year of high school. I had big plans; enjoy the summer, have a great senior year, and then go off to college. But all of a sudden, there was this wrench thrown into the plan. At that point, I think I didn’t know what else to do but trust in God to help me through one of the most difficult times in my life.

From looking at the Psalm, this shouldn’t seem to be a surprise that people, including myself, look to God more so when something is not going well. When things are going as planned, you sometimes don’t acknowledge that He is there. I know this is the case for me sometimes. If I do something well at work or get something done that needed to be done, I may offer a silent thanks to Him, maybe give Him a mental high five, but I don’t necessarily feel like I have to place my trust in Him at that time. It feels as if it is already a given.

The other thing that I struggle with is waiting, and waiting for God to make happen what I want to happen. In the Psalm, it talks about David being assailed for a long time by the bad guys. He had to continue waiting, even through all the horrible things that were being done to him, for God to make His will be known. But in the end, he did. David’s patience paid off in a reward for him because he left his will to God alone.

I think waiting can be difficult for anybody, but it seems even more so when things in life are down. There are times when I just really want something to happen right then and there, but have to wait for it. I think the best example I can give of this is just the pain and stress of waiting throughout the adoption process. Every day I would be waiting for a call, and those days turned into weeks, weeks into months. What seemed like forever was only a few months, but it felt like it would never end, and at times was difficult to put my faith in God. It even made me question whether God was even there for me. In the end though, I continued to keep my faith in Him. It all worked out as well, as I now have the privilege of having a wonderful, loving child in Jayden. The reward came for me in the end because I waited and trusted in Him.

Based on these struggles, I want to expand and I often think about how can I place more trust in God on a daily basis, not just when life is looking down? How do I become more like someone who knows that what happened is because of God, regardless of it being good or bad, and are able to wait for it to happen. You know, those who let nothing bother them, and no matter what happens, good or bad, always seem to have a similar response of whatever happened being God’s will. I want to be able to let my soul rest in God alone.

I think I can actually go back and look at the Psalm for help with this. First, verse 7 talks about a person’s honor and deliverance resting in God alone. This really stands out for me in the Psalm because it gives me purpose. It doesn’t matter what others think of me or how I have done something. The only judging that I will need will come from God alone, and this gives me the vision to go on each day with a singular purpose and know that if I am doing well by Him, He will make everything work out in the end.

Similar to this verse, verse 12 talks about God repaying those for their work. This tells me that there is always an end in sight, and because of this, it gives me comfort, and makes me feel that all I do is worthwhile. If I am doing what He wants, I will in the end be rewarded. Hearing this makes having to wait a little easier, because it will just be a matter of time until I am rewarded by Him.

In summary, what I take and think of when I hear Psalm 62 is that good things come to those who wait. Regardless of what happens on this Earth. No matter what kind of struggles I am going through, as long as I am trusting in God, it will all end well with Him.

 

Leave a Reply

